Agriculture Roundtable
Conference 2010

The Australian Farm Institute's 2010 Agriculture Roundtable Conference was held on Wednesday 10 and Thursday 11 November 2010. Over 110 leaders in Australian agriculture attended the Conference, which provided the opportunity to debate the strategic issues shaping the sector.

The program for the Agriculture Roundtable Conference is available here.
Each year, conference sessions are structured around a number of themes, and in 2010 a ‘Great Debate’ was held on the topic of water policy development in Australia. The statement for debate was That there is too much focus on the environment in water planning decisions.

Mick Keogh address to the diner attendeeDr James Nielsen, MonsantoDiscussion on R&DDavid Goodfellow
Peter Corish, Prime AgKhan Horne, NABInvestment in AgThrilled attendees
Wayne Gordon, RabobankJohn Berry, Swift AustraliaJohn Keniry address to the diner attendeesDavid Anthony, Auscott

Some presentations are available for download below:

David Anthony - Managing Director and CEO, Auscott Ltd.
Auscott is one of Australia’s largest integrated agribusiness organisations with extensive irrigation and cotton processing operations. David is also Chairman of the Cotton Catchment Communities CRC, member of the NSW Minister for Primary Industries Ministerial Advisory Council for Primary Industries Science, member of the CSIRO Agribusiness Sector Advisory Council, and Board member of the Australian Farm Institute.

John Berry - Director of Swift Australia Pty Ltd.
Mr Berry is a Director of Australia’s largest meat processor and feedlot operator. Swift Australia has 11 processing facilities and 6 feedlots located across the eastern seaboard. Swift Australia employs over 8000 people and has total annual sales in excess of $3 billion. John has been involved in the Australian Meat Industry for over 16 years. He has responsibilities for mergers, legal developments and environmental, government and corporate activities within the business.

Peter Corish - Executive Chairman, PrimeAg Australia
Peter Corish has been actively involved in agriculture since 1973.  Peter has held numerous industry positions including Director and Deputy Chairman of Namoi Cotton Co-operative (1976-1979), Chairman of Cotton Australia (1995-1999), President of the National Farmers’ Federation (2002-2006).  While NFF President, he chaired the Cairns Group Farm Leaders.

Wayne Gordon - Senior Analyst, Economics and Commodities, Rabobank Australia Ltd
Wayne Gordon joined Rabobank Food and Agribusiness Research and Advisory in April 2009 and is principally responsible for soft commodity market and economic analysis. Wayne has more than eight years experience as an economist, gained through working in the Commonwealth Government Treasury, the Australian Bureau of Agricultural and Resource Economics and private consultancies. In addition to Wayne’s experience in the analysis of commodity markets and the macro economy, he has worked on a number of important agricultural policy issues such as infrastructure reform and water use efficiency in the irrigation sector. Wayne was raised on a mixed farming and irrigation property in the South East of South Australia and remains involved in the family farming business.

Dr Kate Grenot - Chair of the Australian Government’s Rural Research & Development Council

The Rural Research & Development Council was established in 2009 by the Minister for Agriculture, Fisheries and Forestry and Minister for Sustainable Population, and chaired by Dr Grenot. Kate is a former director of the Industry Research & Development Board (Biological Committee), the Grape and Wine Research & Development Corporation (Chair, Audit Committee), the Royal Botanic Gardens & Domain Trust (Chair, Finance Audit & Risk Management Committee) and Wirra Wirra Vineyards. Kate is a former Associate Director of Coopers & Lybrand (Government Services) and has a background in plant physiology (Sydney, Harvard) and science policy (Sussex).

Professor Richard Kingsford - Director, Australian Wetlands and Rivers Centre, School of Biological, Earth and Environmental Sciences of the University of NSW
Professor Kingsford was appointed by the Minister for Climate Change and Water to the Australian Government’s Environmental Flows Scientific Committee, Lower Lakes and Coorong Advisory Committee and the Lake Eyre Basin Advisory Panel. He also advises the NSW Government on the delivery of environmental flows bought from the irrigation industry through their Riverbank program.

Simon McKeon - Chairman CSIRO
Mr Simon McKeon was appointed as Chairman of the Board of CSIRO on 28 June 2010. Currently Mr McKeon is the Executive Chairman of Macquarie Group’s Melbourne Office, President of the Australian Government’s Takeovers Panel, Chairman of Multiple Sclerosis Research Australia and Chairman of Business for Millennium Development. He is a Fellow of the Australian Institute of Company Directors and also of the Financial Services Institute of Australasia.

Danny O’Brien - CEO of the National Irrigators’ Council

The National Irrigators’ Council was formed in 2008 to represent the interests of irrigators at a national level. Mr. O’Brien is a former newspaper and television journalist who was Chief of Staff and media adviser to the Leader of the Nationals in Victoria for four years and spent a similar amount of time as an adviser and senior adviser with former Deputy Prime Minister, Mark Vaile. Prior to joining the NIC in 2009, he was Communications Manager at the Rural Industries Research and Development Corporation.

Dr David Orsmond - Reserve Bank of Australia
Dr Orsmond is Deputy Head Economic Analysis Department at the Reserve Bank of Australia and heads up the Bank’s Regional and Industry Analysis Section. Prior to his appointment at the RBA, Dr Orsmond worked at the International Monetary Fund. During 1999-2001, he was appointed as the IMF Resident Representative to Ukraine, based in Kiev, to help oversee their reform program. Dr Orsmond's publications include articles on currency arrangements, global imbalances and commodity markets.