John Ralph Essay Competition

John Ralph was instrumental in the establishment of the Australian Farm Institute, becoming its founding Chairman in 2004 and continuing in that role until his retirement in June, 2010.

John has been CEO of CRA (now Rio Tinto Ltd), former Chairman of the Commonwealth Bank of Australia, former Deputy Chairman of Telstra Corporation and previous Chairman of Business Council of Australia and Australian Mining Council.

His outstanding contribution to the country was recognised in 2000 when he was appointed to Australia’s highest civilian honour, a Companion in the Order of Australia, having been made an Officer in the Order of Australia in 1988.

Involved in farm enterprises in southern NSW, John Ralph argued strongly for comprehensive and objective research as the basis for sound policy decision-making, particularly for the agriculture sector.

In 2010, the Australian Farm Institute created the John Ralph Essay Competition to acknowledge John's ongoing support for sound research and debate in agricultural economics and policies.

The John Ralph Essay Competition aims to engage the community in informed debate about policy issues impacting on the Australian farm sector.

Previous winners

2019    Open: Jessica Ramsden, Novice: Matt Champness

2018    Open: Deanna Lush

2016    Open: Dean Ansell, Novice: Brendan O’Keeffe

2015    Open: Tim Byrne, Novice: Alexandra Grigg

2014    Open: David Thompson

2013    Open: Matthew Cawood, Student: Lauren (Xi) Yu

2012    Open: Geoff Ball, Student: Edward Perrett

2011    Student: Nicolette Cameron

2010    Open: Daniel Gibbons